Sunday, 5 March 2017

{Review} #Famous by Jilly Gagnon

25116429Posted by Donna
Release Date: February 14th, 2017
Finished Date: November 16th, 2016
Publishers: Harper 360 
Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary 
Source: For Review
Format: ARC
Pages: 384
Buy: Amazon UK Amazon US / The Book Depo 
 
Debut author Jilly Gagnon bursts onto the scene with a story equal parts bite and romance, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Jennifer E. Smith, about falling for someone in front of everyone. 

In this modern day love story: Girl likes boy. Girl snaps photo and posts it online. Boy becomes insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent photo turns into a whirlwind adventure that forces them both to question whether fame—and love—are worth the price…and changes both of their lives forever.

Told from alternating points of view, #famous captures the sometimes-crazy thrill ride of social media and the equally messy but wonderful moments of liking someone in real life.

The Review: Famous is a story about Rachel who finds Kyle attractive and so she takes a picture of him and posts it online and overnight Kyle becomes famous. It’s a YA contemporary read that is perfect for any fan of the genre. It’s fun, flirty and although it touches on some serious issues, it’s definitely a great read - one that you know you can read in one sitting and have a good time reading it. As a reader it gives you the chance to explore the back lash that sometimes comes from social media website – if you’re not already aware, but it could also be an eye opener to the younger readers who aren’t that familiar with social media.  

Told from dual perspectives this story offers both characters points of view which if you’re like me, you love. I love it in books because it means I can connect to both characters and with this story it fits so well. And Rachel and Kyle are really fun characters to read about. 

The story was fun to read even somewhat predictable but that didn’t stop me enjoying the story. It was just the right type of book I needed a the time and the happy ending was a perfect end to the story.

Thank you to Harper 360 for giving me the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments: